The Clever Boys are crowned the New PSL Champions for 2017.

All hail the Clever boys as the new Kings of the PSL Champions for 2017.


Bidvest Wits became league champions first time in their history on Wednesday night in the finest style of professionalism that has been the great South African club’s hallmark of their 96-year history.

Round 29 of the 2016/17 Absa Premiership season on Wednesday saw the title decided, with Bidvest Wits claiming their first PSL championship, but the situation at the bottom of the log remains up in the air ahead of the final set of matches.

The Clever Boys defeated Polokwane City 2-0 at Bidvest Stadium thanks to goals from James Keene and Daine Klate.

Combined with Mamelodi Sundowns’ 2-2 draw at home to Maritzburg United, it was enough to secure the title for Gavin Hunt’s team.

Wits have become the seventh different championship winners in the PSL era, while Hunt has claimed a fourth title – adding to the three he won in 2007/08, 2008/09 and 2009/10 with SuperSport United.

Not only have Sundowns been dethroned, they are actually in danger of losing second place to Cape Town City, who are just a point behind the Brazilians after claiming a 1-0 win over Golden Arrows.